A - books by MP

B - books he illustrated

C - his contributions to books D - his contributions to periodicals

E - exhibitions & ephemera

F - monographs on MP

G - assessments in books

H - assessments in periodicals

I - theses & dissertations

Index to MP’s poems

Abbreviations used in PiP

Peake Studies homepage

This page last updated
November 2015

Hosted by Web Hosting by IPOWER

Abbreviated titles with the editions for reference

BN = Book of Nonsense (A17)
CLP = Craft of the Lead Pencil (A5)
CSDA = Captain Slaughterboard Drops Anchor (A1)
Drawings 1949 = Drawings by Mervyn Peake (A7)
Drawings 1974 = Drawings of Mervyn Peake (A18)
11P = Eleven Poems, published as MPR no 27, 1995 (A25)
G = Gormenghast (A9d)
Gb = The Glassblowers (A8)
Gilmore = Maeve Gilmore’s memoir, A World Away. Gollancz, 1970. (F1)
LLU = Letters from a Lost Uncle (A6)
MP = Mr Pye (A10)
MPMA = Mervyn Peake: the man and his art (ed. G. Peter Winnington), Peter Owen, 2006 (F14)
MPR = The Mervyn Peake Review, published by the MPSoc 1975–1996, indexed on this site
MPVA = Peter Winnington’s biography, Mervyn Peake’s Vast Alchemies. Peter Owen, 2009 (F11)
PP = Peake’s Progress (A22)
P&D = Poems and Drawings (A14)
PS = Peake Studies, indexed on this site
RFB = Rhyme of the Flying Bomb (A13)
RoB = A Reverie of Bone (A15a)
RwR = Rhymes without Reason (A3a)
Smith = Gordon Smith’s memoir, Mervyn Peake. Gollancz, 1984 (F5)
SP = Selected Poems (A16)
S&S = Shapes and Sounds (A2a)
TA = Titus Alone (A12d)
10P = Ten Poems, published as MPR no 26, 1993 (A24)
TG = Titus Groan (A4d)
12P = Twelve Poems (A20)
VoH = G. Peter Winnington, The Voice of the Heart: the working of Mervyn Peake’s imagination. Liverpool U.P., 2006 (F15)
W&D = Writings and Drawings (A19)
Watney = John Watney’s biography, Mervyn Peake. Michael Joseph, 1976 (F3)
WI = The catalogue of the ‘Word and Image III’ Mervyn Peake exhibition at the National Book League, London, 1972 (E)
Y = Malcolm Yorke’s biography, Mervyn Peake: My Eyes Mint Gold – a life. John Murray, 2000 (F12)

© G. Peter Winnington 2011

Return to contents page